Home Instagram About Me Polish Swatches

Older Blog Posts

< Back

Click on the picture to go back to an old blog post!

28th August

Helloo..
This week I decided to continue feeding my ombre obsession by trying out a new colour combination, blue and green. I think putting them together creates a quite summery water effect and since it's summer, why not!

For this design I've used Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine Nail Paint 'Blueberry' (GNP5) and Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine Nail Paint 'Greenberry' (GNP12). I like the Gelly Hi-Shine nail varnishes by Barry M as they are especially shiny. However, when using a sponge to create the ombre effect, you do lose the glossy shine of the nail paint.



I decided to also use Barry M's 'Pink Iridescent' (264) glitter nail varnish on top to make the colours really sparkle. The glitter actually comes in a pale pink colour, but I always apply it is a top coat as when applied you can't see the pink so it doesn't effect the colour of your base polish, it just adds the perfect glittery shine, which I love.



Here is the finished result! I am really chuffed with how these turned out. Like the pink and orange ombre in my previous post, the colours really blend well together and create a really nice 'mermaid' watery effect, especially with the glittery top coat.



Unfortunately you can't see the glittery top coat very well on the picture,
which is a shame as the pictures just don't do the top coat justice. Try the Barry M's 'Pink Iridescent' (264) glittery top coat yourself and see how lovely it really is.

Let me know what you think on the instagram post for this nail design here.

While you're there if you haven't already please like this photo and follow my account for the latest updates!

21st August

Hiii. Welcome to my new nail blog!
This is my first ever blog post so I hope you enjoy it!
I'll be posting more often as it is the summer but I am hoping to post at least once a week in term time, hopefully, if I can keep up with it as well as doing my degree, so keep checking back and keep an eye on my instagram for updates on new blog posts too. I normally paint my nails once a week, more if I get the time, so my posts will correlate with this.

So, I am obssessed with ombre colour nail art at the moment, as you can probably tell! I've been playing around with loads of different colours schemes to see what colours work well together when painted in a gradient.

I don't airbrush my nails, so I have a DIY way in which I ombre my nails, using a kitchen sponge! Most of you are probably familiar with this technique, but if you're not, I am planning on creating a tutorial post/video on how I create the ombre effect on my nails in the near future so make sure to check back for that :)

So here is this weeks nail design, I decided to use an orange and a pink as I think these colours compliment each other well.

Taking a look at my nail varnish collection, I decided on Barry M Speedy Quick Dry 'In a Heartbeat' (SNDP4) for the pink, and Barry M Speedy Quick Dry 'Full Throttle' (SDNP1) for the orange. Both being subtle, pastel-like colours, I thought they would work well together.

'In a Heartbeat' also features as my current favourite nail varnish, so take a look on the right >



Below is the finished result. I am really proud of these, I think the colours look really nice and they blend together well. I think the colours also compliment my tan (LOL, it's summer). I finished them off with Barry M's 'Matte Top Coat' (MTC) to keep them quite pastel-like and avoid a shine to keep them subtle.



Let me know what you think on the instagram post for this nail design here.

While you're there if you haven't already please like this photo and follow my account for the latest updates!

About Me

Hiiii! :) Welcome to my nail blog! My name is Rachael and I am a 21 year old student from Brighton, England. I am currently studying to become a primary school teacher. In my spare time I love painting my nails! Feel free to take a look at my blog and follow my instagram too which is linked below for my latest updates and designs!
xxx

Instagram

Click on the picture below to check out my my nail designs on my Instagram page!

Rachaels_Nail.Blog | Instagram

// My personal account:
rachaeladorkable